Cliche

074739-FC222He is the best author I know to date, even with me starting collecting and reading Stephen King novels by the plenty. Dean Koontz has been an inspiration to me since way back when. The first book I read authored by Dean Koontz was Sole Survivor, a powerful, captivating novel wherein he stipulates human loss and the fundamental value of what we perceive to see after loved ones has perished in whatever manner, however delusional that might be, the laws of death and what might come after we die. Fictional, of course, but enlivened enough to make you wonder. The second was Strangers, another mind-boggling story about complete strangers sharing the same peculiar symptoms as result of brainwashing ensued after a world-changing event occurred and how sudden, keen senses led them back to the Tranquility Motel where everything started, where they found that they weren’t strangers after all, where they found strength in numbers. There are more books, I have a collection of at least 55 books altogether, at least, and every single one as good as the last. Let’s say by reading his books, he has sharpened my perceptions and shaped my mind into what I write today. He has so many opinions and facts and fictional truths that there is just no end. All’s well that ends well, good. I bought this book illustrated in the picture attached somewhere within last month, and was I disappointed to feel the need to express the disgust in the cliché this book harbored. Not that I’m shooting it down as a failure, not that I threw it in a corner somewhere in a dark room never to be seen again, no, he still writes like he always does. He still inspires me, even in this book, but where it lacks in imagination he makes up for in encouragement. I mean, his characters are always the same, which is like meeting the same character in every book, every time, no news here. His characters’ main goal, their objective in life, are the same, most of the times. Killing someone for pleasure or work or the thrill of trying to prove something that does not make him invincible in the end but rather seriously dead. Like one guy in this book who is an assassin. He wasted his brother because he is god and he is everlasting, no one can touch him. There were other books I read with the same character who had the same opinions of himself. Maybe he is trying to make a statement to his fan base, trying to get a picture out the front door, over and over again. Maybe he just likes to work with killers, like to know or learn about their psyche. Which is good, I suppose, but still, there are other ways, other deranged people. Otherwise the story is good, the monsters a little familiar in description, otherwise good enough to make me want to finish the book. The plot seems intriguing, what with all that’s happened so far.. 😉

I will keep on buying his books for as long as he lives, I guess. Stephen King is, I would say, in the same league as Dean, even if a little more malign. Just finished Desperation, a very good, very tragic book. Tragic in the means of a young girl being murdered in front of her older brother, afterwards hanged from a hook on a wall. I don’t necessarily like that kind of malevolent intent towards children. He has a twisted mind, but I love it otherwise. For argument’s sake, lets assume Dean and Stephen in the same category where minds are concerned. They both have a sense of the uncanny, they both have a sense of psychology and fear, they both have the sense of describing brutality very well, even adding some humor into the mix for a little twist of flavor. And most of mankind love both their books. Still, Dean makes you hang on every word that he has ever written, makes me hang on it like if taken away, my life would hang in the balance. Dramatic and intense. Whereas Stephen fills your mind with whatever he has to say, creates a dreamscape in which you might be overcome with pure disgust or fear. Dark and prone to susceptibility.

That is all…

One thought on “Cliche

  1. I’ve always thought that Koontz is a watered down version of King.
    You should now read the Dark Tower series – see what he does with the regulators and the low men there.
    The books I’ve lately enjoyed of Koontz is the Odd series, but he’s not somebody I just have to buy.
    That honour goes to King and Pratchett 😉

Leave a Reply

