DP: In a Crisis

5586.previewHonestly evaluate the way you respond to crisis situations. Are you happy with the way you react?

Fight or flight. I’m somewhere in between leaning towards flight, I guess. I freeze, my mind becomes scrambled and impairs any thinking whatsoever. No, I don’t necessarily like what happens to me when in a crisis. Like I said in a previous post, I am scared of confrontation, any kind would fall under the same category. Like entering the store minutes after a robbery where a girl pushes us into the office, locking the door. Bad timing, but I flew into the office and just stood there, rooted to the spot. The second was when a man shoved his fiancé away from him. Now there is something I can’t tolerate. I lost all senses and took to the streets, thinking I was back in my home town of all places, heading towards the house of one of my best friends. Of course, and two hours later, I found myself in the middle of nowhere. I have to admit, I had some alcohol in my system before the incident, the cause for my apparent bout of madness, except that I saw the shove as a big crisis. The third was when confronted by a big dog. My friend was at the hospital tending to her mother, and I had to get into the house to stay the night. It was dark, the dog was new to the place, and I am scared of big dogs. So I fought with myself for an hour before I had enough courage to enter the house. The dog growled at me and I froze, but it ran off to the front yard in wait for someone familiar to come back. After my friend arrived home, though, it suddenly wanted to attack me, and yet again, I stayed rooted on the couch, too scared to move. It’s cowardly, I know, but in a crisis, instincts kick in, and instincts can’t be helped. It’s the body’s way of figuring out what to do next instead of heeding to rational thought. How many heroes did not remember what they did after something of tragedy happened? The same for those who chooses flight instead of fight. I don’t like my response at all, but maybe someday it would do more good than not. By the way, that dog’s name is Luda, and we’re big tjommies today!! 😉

3 thoughts on “DP: In a Crisis

  1. I’ve never really been in a major crisis situation, so I have no idea what I would do should one present itself.

    Staying rooted to the spot is not cowardly guy. It’s called self preservation…

Leave a Reply

