DP: Call Me, Maybe

mobile-phone-artDescribe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

Oh, my phone is nothing but a nuisance, most definitely. Probably because I have a short temper when it comes to those specific devices that only lives to annoy me. I never activate any sounds, so I can’t hear anything. Ever. Weekends I leave my phone somewhere in my bedroom, never to be seen again until Monday morn. It occasionally meets wall, floor or teeth; its longevity never seems so guaranteed when in my hands. For emergencies, which I never get, everyone is almost always at home, so no lingering danger there. The basic reason I use my phone is to store Ideas of anything I think of at any given time if I don’t have a piece of paper and a pen at the ready – convenient enough. The second is storing all my favorite kinds of music, which I listen to when pedaling on the bicycle. Other than that, pretty much as useless as a bag of potatoes wired together to charge a lifeless battery. 😉

I’ve seen some people really involved in that little piece of technology that their eyes seemed glued to the encasing. It reminds me of a book I’ve read of Dean Koontz where a scientist injected some chemicals into human subjects as to make them super beings, its dire consequence something too horrific to comprehend. Some of the subjects got entangled with their computers, their limbs fused with the electric system inside, making them unresponsive yet hostile; their eyes silver orbs with data running down its surfaces. A very chilling book. Fiction, of course, but chilling, nonetheless. With these cell phones and smart televisions and eBooks and stuff that’s going round, I do wonder where all this will end, if you catch my drift . . . 😉

11 thoughts on “DP: Call Me, Maybe

  1. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: Call Me Maybe, Call Me Surely, Just Don’t Call Me Late For Dinner « Jumbalya of thoughts and musings

Leave a Reply

