DP: Nightmares – that kill

Scary little baby Nightmares, for me, is something I don’t get to experience that often. However, when it happens, or I do remember, it does not fade without leaving something behind. I actually wrote a post earlier the previous year about a nightmare I had, and would like you to read it as my Daily Prompt:

At about 04h57 this morning I woke up to a horrible nightmare that induced such a sudden flood of tears that I had to get out of bed, (which I hate, of course, given the time this took place) to go to the bathroom to clear my face of tears and other disgusting excrements that I did not know I contained within my nasal canal…..

Moving on, this nightmare was unlike any other that I never had, more vivid than any dream that I never remember, and more horrifying than any horror flick I have never seen as yet, with a cast that consisted of my whole family and three strangers who would be the ultimate fault to my dream’s terrifying conclusion.

I was the first victim who befell the cruel intentions of three unidentifiable strangers, (given dreams never contain strangers, it must have been somebody I only noticed) holding me captive in my own home. The second my family arrived home, they scattered into the day, leaving behind the echo’s of maniacal laughter… The next instant, me and my family went out for a movie, (my older sister declined, and stayed home with her only daughter and eldest son), and after we returned home, we knew something was wrong… Terribly wrong.

As is with fate, it was my brother-in-law and me who came across the three corpses floating in the bathtub, their skin as sickly gray-blue as anyone can imagine, cold and still, utterly lifeless and naked, vulnerable, although, the unmistakable tranquility that adorned my sister and her two beloved children’s faces was enough to bring me out of my dream state into awakening, into such an influx of raw love and pain and shock, that I burst out crying without the strength and will to stop… All the while remembering that eerie laughter that captivated my fears!

One time before, I suffered a panic attack whilst sleeping, and that night I dreamt about my sister’s life being threatened by someone blanketed by dark shadows bearing a gun…

I tried to reach my sister this morning, but her phone just ceased to be by some other means, and her best friend told me that nothing happened to them, and that nothing will ever happen to them while she’s around! It’s good to know that there will always be someone to watch over them, for my sister and her family is the family I never had, and by losing them, any one of them, I would be devastated….

Someone told me today that he did not understand why I had to have a problem with the nightmare, for it was only just a nightmare. Nevertheless, to me it was much more than that. To me it was an omen sent to make me more aware of the times we live in, more aware of the precious times we have left with loved ones and how easily they can ‘cease to be’.

Carpe Diem, never forget! ๐Ÿ™‚

22 thoughts on “DP: Nightmares – that kill

  1. Pingback: The Story of a Recurring Nightmare | Beyond Beauty Tips

  2. Pingback: Steel Walls and Rivets « Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Nightmares … what’s it got to do with a female horse? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: I Live In Oz, But Visit Kansas For My Dreams | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: DREAM ASYLUM ANALYSIS « hastywords

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Nightmares – Flash Fiction / Short Story / Poem – “The Ghost of Poe” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  7. I had such a compelling dream about my brother once, he lives in a different country and I hadn’t even spoken to him in years . The dream was so terrifying when I woke up I had to phone him to make sure he was okay and beg him not to get involved with the occult.

    • I assume you had a dream about him joining one?? ๐Ÿ˜› I had the reaction too; had to call. You just have to know after such a horrific nightmare . . . instinctual, I guess. My sister and I are very close, so probably I knew she was going through some other tough time without really knowing . . .? The same with you? Blood IS thicker than water

Leave a Reply

