Backpacking: Kibbutz

unit13.kibbutz.2681

I’ve felt a little compressed these last two days. What am I doing with my life? Haven’t the slightest clue. Indecision is the culprit, spinning webs of confusion throughout my mind, and ultimately just exhausts me to a point where mind switches off and instinct takes over. It seems feeling like an animal contributed to my decision.

So I’ve made up my mind.

Kibbutz, meaning ‘community’ of sorts, is a communal settlement in Israel, or a type of farm, if you will, which I will be joining having made my arrangements in the next year. A friend and I discussed this at length, to which she told me of her experience there, and how life changing it was. She warned me that too much research would never prepare me for the experience, so I’ve only read a few things – what it’s going to be like living there, what to expect in the ways of voluntary work, as you go as a volunteer, and whatever have you, and it would seem that this decision might take my life into a whole new direction. Perhaps not, no one will know what the future holds, and will only be revealed as the appropriate time announces, but it’s something to do other than going nowhere.

As a naive child, believing what the ‘grownups’ had told about changing the world, be as successful as one can be, ‘make the difference’, they did not prepare me for the wake-up call that is adulthood, carrying all that into the fold. There is nothing as debilitating as coming to terms with the difference between what I believed then, to what I know and believe now. Was it all lies, or just a means of motivation? Did they believe what they told us, being teachers; fathers; family friends, or did they even care? Don’t get me wrong, I agree in regards to making the difference and being successful, but that only applies to those who want to study, want to make lots of money and ultimately chase the ‘dream’, whatever that might be. As a fantasist, a dreamer, an idealist who doesn’t care about any scientific to corporate breakthroughs, any political disputes or compromise, I want to live my life by living on the whims of myself this time. Giving a helping hand, smile, live free, travel and see the world, for when I die, I would like to be able to say that I’ve seen everything, I’ve seen how every country has come to be the way they are, successful or no, and no office or limiting career has contained the wild beast that only lived on instinct alone. As selfish as we are, it’s the world that gives us lodging, the earth that provides us with food. I want to think of her for a change. It’s us who’ve decided to profit from that given and make living an ultimate nightmare, so we have to live up to those consequences.

I don’t have any roots. It was cut off at birth, and that was the umbilical cord that still connected me to the placenta. After that, my spirit has fled and fused with the universe. I am in everything and everything is in me. I have to venture out, and explore everything there is to know. One other thing my friend also told me was that when about this Kibbutz, she came to know herself better, as well. She was a shy girl (she told me), introverted and had difficulty at making conversation, and after the Kibbutz experience, she does not shut up, which to me, if you’re speaking things I approve of, is a very good trait, as I hate making conversation myself. Perhaps afterwards I will never shut up. I don’t want restraints, not even in speech. I want to be the real me that resides deep down inside. Fact is, no one is true to him/herself when not doing what you really want to do . . . not even me. I’m not going to elaborate on that, for I won’t  what misguided decisions people can make, but if they’re happy, who am I to deny them that when in fact my happiness lies elsewhere.

The Kibbutz is just a start, and after that, who knows where the winds will take me. Eurasia, Northern Africa, the America’s, Australia. The main idea is to see and feel and express the world as I want, rather than just taking it by word of mouth. Then, just then will I have the experience, knowledge, inspiration to become the artist I want to be. I did not have the opportunity yet, but this is just as good as any.

Phew.

7 thoughts on “Backpacking: Kibbutz

  1. I wish I went when I was a young woman, before life’s responsibilities stopped that from happening.
    Don’t think there’s a better thing you can do for yourself. See how big the world is, see the multitude of differences, get your head out of the suck heap you were born in.
    As long as you make provision to blog so I can live vicariously through you, you have my blessing G.
    Go. Spread your wings. Find the things that makes you happy in the only place that counts – your soul.
    Liked the tune…

    • I will, most definitely, even if I have to barge into a local’s hut and use what limited resources they have to enable a short visit to my blog, and consequently, you! 😉 But I will keep you posted, Kaereste! xxx

      • is this the “thing” you were hintin’ about?

        and too many lines in a single post…

        “There is nothing as debilitating as coming to terms with the difference between what I believed then, to what I know and believe now. Was it all lies, or just a means of motivation?”

        “I don’t have any roots. It was cut off at birth, and that was the umbilical cord that still connected me to the placenta. After that, my spirit has fled and fused with the universe. I am in everything and everything is in me. ”

        “I don’t want restraints, not even in speech. I want to be the real me that resides deep down inside. Fact is, no one is true to him/herself when not doing what you really want to do . . . not even me”

        I love this post to pieces… but will you be totally alienated..???

      • yes, given a second chance, i will like to redo some things i did in a different way too and i do wonder what it would feel to live where there are no chains and no rules to follow… I will be waitin’ for that “more”

Leave a Reply

