DP: A Bookish Choice – Even in Space

A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

322617“You can only pick one, love.”

I’d say both options seem attractive. Everyone would love for their work to be appreciated and studied for decades, even in obscurity, whereas everyone would love to receive well deserved compensation for the art they produce for the millions who extracts pleasure from it. The actual choice between short-lived and longevity?

I’m not one for fame and all that it entails, but if I really had to make a quick decision, I’d probably go for being the paperback author whose work gives pleasure to millions. Nowadays, it’s an easy choice to make without having to consider the other.

When I die, I’d like to smile at what I’ve left behind, knowing that great writing never dies. One day, when earth has gone and all that is left are stars and a good old spaceship on a mission, I’d like to have one of my books on board. Not because it brought me fame, but because everyone loved it so much, they had to have a copy.

If you want to dream, dream big, I suppose.

2 thoughts on “DP: A Bookish Choice – Even in Space

  1. 🙂 Thank you. Watched Deep Impact the other day, and the astronauts had Moby Dick on their spaceship. When you have great literature stashed somewhere in a corner when left locked in a room, you can never go wrong.

Leave a Reply

