DP: Uncanned Laughter – For the love of Toddledygoop

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

SAM_1475This is my sister’s eldest. We all call him Poena, but his real name is Lourens. I am lucky to have been there while he was growing up, since I lived with my sis and her husband for quite some time. He, along with his younger brother and sister, are my angels, my life and my love. 

Now, this particular kid, when he was about six, sever years old, came to me one day and asked if I wanted a “peophol-vrug”. At the time, I did not know what the word meant, and my sister explained to me that it was another, slightly inappropriate name for an egg.

“Poepholvrug” is an Afrikaans word, and directly translated, it would be something like “Butthole-fruit”. Hence, egg . . .

So, obviously, when she told me, I screamed and wet myself laughing.

I love you guys!!

 

7 thoughts on “DP: Uncanned Laughter – For the love of Toddledygoop

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Uncanned Laughter – Smitty Boats | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

    • Me neither!! That is why it’s so unique . . . I really canned myself to the utmost degree. I think I haven’t laughed like that since I watched Cry Baby as a kid. My sis told me I rolled around on the ground and they thought I was going to faint. Poena and his siblings are the cutest 🙂

Leave a Reply

